A Letter from the Desk of Ashley Wilson

© Lucila De Avila Castilho | Dreamstime Stock Photos

Dear Friday,

I have become increasingly aware of an ongoing strain developing in our relationship as of late. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I was under the impression that you were a carefree day, one that encouraged the display of casual office attire, mid-afternoon parties with snacks from Bristol Farms and more often than not, early departure from the office. Perhaps you have been misleading me for these past two years, but I am concerned that lately, you are not holding up your end of the bargain. In recent weeks you have been moody, irritable and quite frankly, unpleasant to deal with in the morning. I am concerned that this strain is a sign of larger problems. Is everything okay at home? Is Thursday harassing you again, claiming that she is the “New Friday”? Perhaps we should all sit down and have a group discussion regarding the importance of being a team player? I am concerned that if this behavior continues, it will cause strife not only here in the office, but also in our personal lives. Perhaps it is the other days of the week that are not doing their share of the work, dumping it all on you and thus, creating a stressful and unmanageable work environment (we all know that Saturday has a bit of a drinking problem). I write this not to cause further anxiety, but to find a solution that will hopefully make everyone happier. I ask that we have a sit down meeting to discuss the workload and the lack of “woo hoo it’s almost the weekend” spirit that you once possessed. Please find the time in your schedule to come and talk to me about these serious and debilitating issues.

Best,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

