Dreams Change But Never Die

© Simon Lawrence | Dreamstime Stock Photos

Okay, so I’m not going to lie to you – this blog is not my day job.  I know, I know…it’s crazy, right?  Trust me, if I had my way I would write novels for a living, get paid an obnoxious amount of money for said novels, have a beautiful house overlooking a sparkling ocean and be able to share it all with my family (those I already know and those I have yet to meet). Instead I have a day job in event planning, a weekend job in freelance copywriting, a writing partner and two open (read unfinished) scripts, and a blog I barely have time to update.  The blog is what drives me, but everything else pays the bills.

If you  had asked me three years ago if I thought I would end up as a freelance copywriter for a major international company I would have laughed at you.  I’m creative.  Corporations don’t foster creativity, they stifle it, right?  Fast forward to today.  Now I AM a freelance copywriter for a major international corporation and our Facebook page just hit one million fans! Two years ago I started as the social media freelance writer for this brand’s Facebook page and now we have hit one million fans, expanded to Twitter, Tumblr and YouTube and sold out product on every major store shelf we’re carried in. Not only that, but this brand is ethically balanced, deeply story driven and wonderfully creative.

Just to recap – this all means that one million people read my work on a daily basis.  I’ll allow you to stay skeptical for one moment (but don’t even think about lingering in skepticism longer than that). True, it’s just Facebook.  People read my work while they stalk people they “know” but don’t really know. But who cares?  My creative flair is being broadcast to one million people on a daily basis.  True, nobody knows it’s me…but I do, and that’s all that really matters.  What’s funny is how much I have actually found myself loving the whole thing.  Nine years ago, I didn’t even have a personal Facebook page.  In fact, I only have a personal Facebook page because my college roommate made mine for me.  I didn’t even use it for the first few months.  Now here I am, writing copy that’s viewed by over one million people daily.  It’s almost mind-blowing.

I guess what intrigues me the most is how different my career path has turned out from what I originally intended.  I never would have thought I would find myself enjoying what is basically a marketing position, but here I am absolutely relishing every moment, every post, and dare I say every tweet!

Next goal: one million writeattitude blog followers? Okay, maybe that’s a pretty big dream, but let’s face it…I’m also pretty damn determined.

One thought on “Dreams Change But Never Die

  1. Papa Smurf says:

    What a wonderful way to look at the opportunities that you have pursued. One million readers do follow your work. And you are wrong about one thing. Major corporations ( at least the good ones ) do foster creativity. That is how they separate themselves from the competition.

    Congratulations!

    Papa Smurf

Leave a Reply

